No trip to Windsor Great Park is complete without a visit to The Savill Garden. Sir Eric Savill first created this woodland garden in the 1930’s and since then many others have undertaken a tireless quest to add their own expertise and creativity to The Savill Garden, pushing the boundaries of its design. The garden team is continually refreshing and renewing the plantings, displays and landscaping.
Visitors can explore eight distinct gardens across 35 acres to discover rare plants and stunning seasonal displays. They can have a bite to eat at the Savill Garden Kitchen or treat themselves to a cream tea in The Gallery Café. The Gift Shop and Plant Centre offers a wide range of tempting garden inspired gifts, seasonal goods and plants grown in the Royal Gardens.
Now one of the busiest in the region, Woking Station is a major gateway with connections to London, the south-west and the south coast. Trains run to London Waterloo, which can be reached in about 25 minutes, at least every five minutes throughout the day.
The first railway station in Woking opened in 1838, when the line linking London with the port of Southampton was constructed.
The modern town of Woking would not have been built without the coming of the railway.
The line was first proposed in 1830 - one of the first in the south of England - and work began in 1834. The railway was built across common land, as it was cheaper than farmland (as was the Basingstoke Canal).
The station was built on Woking Heath. This common land reached from the original town in the south, now called Old Woking. When the station first opened it was the end of the line; Basingstoke was reached in 1839 and Southampton in 1840. In 1845 the Guildford Branch Railway opened. Woking became an even more important junction fourteen years later when the line linked with Portsmouth, via Godalming and Havant.
Guildford is a large town in Surrey in the South East of England. It has still retained much of its historical charm. A short walk up the cobbled high street shows many buildings which are hundreds of years old. The medieval castle was used by the King of England in the 1400s and because of this Guildford is the only royal town in Surrey.
A tranquil hillside arboretum created by Dr Wilfred Fox in the early twentieth century, now cared for by the National Trust. Open 363 days a year with stunning botanical displays all year round.
The park covers 1.08h (2.7acres) and was created in 1910 by Farnham Urban District Council as a recreational area for the residents of Farnham. It also includes the Evelyn Borelli Garden of Rest.
The name comes from 17th Century meadows, part of The Bush Hotel estate which was known as Gostreeds. Today the grounds include:
Wood Street Village is a village in the county of Surrey, England with a village green. It is located three miles (4 km) west of Guildford and is part of the parish of Worplesdon. Local amenities include a church (St Albans), infant school, post office and two public houses (the White Hart and the Royal Oak). The Normandy Youth Center also serves the children of the area. There are a number of old houses in the village; some of the nearby farmhouses date from the 15th century. Wood Street School opened in 1878 and the Victorian part still stands. The current St Albans church building was completed in 1967. The village green features the only surviving maypole in Surrey.
Haslemere is a quaint and charming market town, steeped in history and the perfect place to shop, dine or stay a while and explore the beautiful surrounding countryside.
The name of this old chalk quarry is a reminder that the prosperity of medieval Guildford was largely based on the wool trade. "Guildford blue" cloth, after dyeing with woad, was fixed on wooden racks to allow it to dry without shrinking. There are blocked-up chalk mines in this area, as there is a hard band of chalk which was mined for building (perhaps, even, for building the castle).
The University of Law is the UK's longest-established specialist provider of legal education. In fact, we've trained more lawyers than anyone else. We can trace our origins to 1876 with the formation of leading tutorial firm Gibson & Weldon.
Tel: 01483 304384