Price: FREE with retiring collection

Farnham Sinfonia Autumn Concert

Organised by: Farnham Sinfonia
Start Date
7 October, 2023
End Date
7 October, 2023

Farnham Sinfonia Autumn Concert

Following on from the success of their last event in March, when Farnham Sinfonia introduced young aspiring musicians to the audience, this theme will continue at their October concert.  The programme will include...

  • Barber – Adagio for Strings
  • Haydn - Violin Concerto in G, Jelena Horvat - soloist
  • Panufnik - Violin Concerto, Mira Marton - soloist
  • Chopin - Piano Concerto No.2 in F minor, Mischa Carr - soloist

Panufnik - Violin Concerto with soloist Mira Marton, an ex Yehudi Menuhin student. It was commissioned by and dedicated to Menuhin.   Panufnik was a Polish composer who moved to England in the 60's and spent much time in Farnham where he met his future wife. Mira is also Polish and is passionate about Panufnik's music.  Panufnik's daughter, Roxanna composed the Coronation Odes for King Charle's Coronation, so she is something of a household name at the moment. Roxanna and Panufnik's widow, Lady Camilla now 85, will be joining us. It is a superb piece, vibrant, dancey and energetic.


Free with a retiring collection of £20 suggested.

Seats can be reserved online, via email or telephone